Department of Oncology Safety Personnel

The Department of Oncology constitutes approximately 120 members of staff and postgraduate students based in 11 geographical sites:

- CBCRU Cambridge Breast Cancer Research Unit
- CCTC Cambridge Cancer Trials Centre (S4 Block & Coton House)
- CUTRCT Cambridge Urology Translational Research & Clinical Trials (Norman Bleehan Offices)
- CMDL Cancer Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory (Clifford Allbutt Building)
- CRUK CI Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute
- Clinical Oncology (R4 Block)
- Hutchison/MRC Research Centre
- JCBC Jeffrey Cheah Biomedical Centre
- SRL Strangeways Research Laboratory
- WSI Wellcome Sanger Institute

Our Departmental Health and Safety Committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Head of Department and is responsible for the production, review, performance and monitoring of the implementation of the Departmental Safety Policy, which is developed in accordance with the University's Safety Policy.

Our Departmental Health and Safety Committee acts in an advisory capacity to the Head of Department and is responsible for the production, review, performance and monitoring of the implementation of the Departmental Safety Policy, which is developed in accordance with the University's Safety Policy.

The Committee includes a representative from each of our main sites; it does not include representatives from the CRUK Cambridge Institute, Jeffrey Cheah Biomedical Centre and the Wellcome Sanger Institute, as health and safety management of our staff located in these sites is formally devolved to their local health managers, due to the very small numbers of Oncology personnel based within these sites.

Your local representative will be able to answer any health and safety related questions for the site where you are based. If you have any health and safety issues or concerns, you should contact your local representative or Departmental Safety Officer (DSO) for advice. If you have an accident, incident, or near miss, you should contact the DSO as soon as possible, as they are required to submit a report form to the University's Safety Office.

Details of key health and safety staff:

- Table 1 Departmental Safety Committee & Safety Contacts for devolved sites
- Table 2 Additional Key Safety Contacts

Issued: January 2013 Amended: 25 March 2020 Review date: 24 March 2020

Table 1: Departmental Safety Committee and Safety Contacts for each of our sites

Location	Departmental Safety Committee Role	Name	Email	Telephone	
SRL - Strangeways Research Laboratory	Chair	Alison Dunning	amd24@medschl.cam.ac.uk	761931	
SCM – School of Clinical Medicine	Clinical School Safety Officer	Keff Tibbles	kt10001@medschl.cam.ac.uk	767124	
Hutchison/MRC Research Centre	Departmental Safety Officer & secretary	Departmental Safety Officer & secretary Laura Turner		760408	
CBCRU - Cambridge Breast Cancer Research Unit	Local Safety Representative (laboratory) Local Safety Representative (Office)	Mark Lucas Anthea Messent	ml947@medschl.cam.ac.uk ajm252@medschl.cam.ac.uk	348931 348928	
CCTC - Cambridge Cancer Trials Centre (S4 Block & Coton House)	Local Safety Representative	Brìde Foster	bride.foster@addenbrookes.nhs.uk	256369	
CUTRCT - Cambridge Urology Translational Research & Clinical Trials (Norman Bleehan Offices)	Local Safety Representative	Sarah Burge	swb35@medschl.cam.ac.uk	348441	
CMDL - Cancer Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory (Clifford Allbutt Building)	Local Safety Representative	Shubha Anand	sa263@medschl.cam.ac.uk	762045	
Clinical Oncology (R4 Block)	Local Safety Representative	Catherine Durance	ccd35@medschl.cam.ac.uk	336800	
Hutchison/MRC Research Centre	Local Safety Representative	Oana Sadiq ois20@mrc-cu.cam.ac.uk		763328	
SRL - Strangeways Research Laboratory	Local Safety Representative	Craig Luccarini	craig@srl.cam.ac.uk	761941	
Devolved sites	Role	Name	Email	Telephone	
Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute	Departmental Safety Officer	Kesh Munbauhal	kesh.mun@cruk.cam.ac.uk	769669	
Jeffrey Cheah Biomedical Centre	Departmental Safety Officer	Stephanie Hall slh60@cam.ac.uk		760237	
Wellcome Sanger Institute Health & Safety Group Leader		Simon Rice	simon.rice@sanger.ac.uk	834244	

Issued: January 2013 Amended: 25 March 2020 Review date: 24 March 2020

Table 2: Additional Key safety staff

Role	CBCRU	CCTC (S4 Block & Coton House)	CUTRCT (Norman Bleehan Offices)	CMDL (Clifford Allbutt Building)	Clinical Oncology (R4 Block)	Hutchison/MRC Research Centre	SRL
Safety Representative	Mark Lucas (Lab) Anthea Messent (Office)	Brìde Foster	Sarah Burge	Shubha Anand Ross Coates	Catherine Durance	Oana Sadiq	Craig Luccarini
First Aiders	Mark Lucas (Lab) Anthea Messent (Office)	Lesley Bennett (S4) Lucy Bennett (R&D) Sarah Dawson (CH) Sarah Cheung (CH) Sarah Fesco (S4)	To be appointed	Building wide first aid team - contact Ross Coates Lorena Di Lisio	Catherine Durance Deborah Whitehorn	Karen Hebert Stephen Jones Luisa Pedro Laura Turner Hayley Woffendin	Craig Luccarini
Metal Health First Aiders	Catherine Durance	Not appointed	Not appointed	Lorena Di Lisio	Catherine Durance	Oana Sadiq Hayley Woffendin	Not appointed
Fire Safety Warden	To be appointed	Brìde Foster (S4) To be appointed (CH) Louise Grybowicz (S4) Stanly Thomas (S4) Lee Mynott (S4) Debbie Blackstone (S4) Sarah Fesco (S4) To be appointed (CH)	Vicky Lupson (Dept of Neurosciences)	Stephen Sawcer	Catherine Durance	Oana Sadiq Francois Meullenet	Julie Jenkins
Biological Safety Officer	N/A	N/A	N/A	To be appointed	N/A	Sakari Vanharanta	Alison Dunning
Chemical Safety Officer	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Oana Sadiq	Craig Luccarini (lab)

Issued: January 2013 Amended: 25 March 2020 Review date: 24 March 2020

Laser Safety Officer	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Alessandro Esposito	N/A
Radiation Protection Supervisor	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Chair of Safety Committee	Alison Dunning						
Departmental Safety Officer	Laura Turner						
Departmental Fire Safety Manager	Laura Turner						