skip to primary navigationskip to content

Our Department

Oncology logo_590x288

The Department of Oncology is an academic department within the School of Clinical Medicine at the University of Cambridge.

In August 2015 Professor Richard Gilbertson, a world leading expert on childhood brain tumours, was appointed Head of Department and Director of the Cambridge Cancer.

The mission of the Department of Oncology is to reduce the morbidity and mortality of patients with cancer through research, treatment and education. 

We are based within 11 geographical locations:

  • Cambridge Breast Cancer Research Unit
  • Cambridge Cancer Trials Centre (S4 Block, Coton House & Norman Bleehan Offices)
  • Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute
  • Clifford Allbutt Building, Cancer Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory
  • Clinical Oncology - R4 Block
  • Hutchison/MRC Research Centre
  • Strangeways Research Laboratory
  • Wellcome Trust-MRC Stem Cell Institute
  • Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

The Cambridge Biomedical Research Campus encompasses Addenbrooke's Hospital (the Cambridge University Teaching Hospital), University of Cambridge Departments, internationally renowned Research Institutes and pharmaceutical companies.

Our location on the Biomedical Research Campus provides access to state-of-the-art clinical and research and facilities and enables close collaboration with world class laboratory scientists and doctors.

We have 120 staff and students, including 18 Research Group Leaders, many of whom are also medical doctors, which ensures strong links between our laboratory science and its clinical application for the benefit of patients.

Research within the Department focuses on diagnosis, treatment and prevention of cancers and can be divided into 3 broad disciplines Basic Laboratory,  Translational and Clinical research, spanning a range of disciplines including molecular biology, genetics, physics, chemistry, mathematics, computational biology, clinical medicine and surgery.

Our research is funded mainly by Cancer Research UK (CRUK), the Medical Research Council (MRC) and the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Cambridge Biomedical Research Centre.